Interview with Critically-Acclaimed Author David Lyons of The Thriller Series Featuring Renegade Cajun Federal Judge Jock Boucher

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Ans. => I slouch. It’s not interesting though, and I don’t recommend it. As I am learning, it is tough on the back.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Ans. =>I enjoy reading. Much of what I read relates to what I am writing, so it’s a lot of scientific stuff. But I am pleased to learn about topics of which I know little.

 When did you write your first book and how old were you?

Ans. =>in my mid-forties.

What does your family think of your writing?

Ans. =>They are very supportive, as they’ve been with all my interests.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

Ans. =>I don’t know if this could be called a surprise, but there is such a sense of fulfillment when a novel is finished, and this is a small measure of the feeling you get with your first positive reviews.

BIOHAZARD LEVEL 4: NEW ORLEANS:

(The Jock Boucher Thriller Series Book 4)

“The latest in Lyons’ (Waters of Oblivion, 2014, etc.) Jock Boucher thriller series finds the retired judge facing off against his nemesis, who plans to unleash plague-infested mosquitoes in the United States….A tightly packed bio-weapon story provides momentum and plenty of obstacles for the recurring protagonist to overcome.” – Kirkus Review

Renegade Cajun Federal Judge Jock Boucher has his work cut out for him, as the fourth book in the critically-acclaimed Jock Boucher mystery thriller, action and adventure series, once again places this unique and charismatic protagonist in the sites of Noble Gunn—one of the most diabolical antagonists in all of thriller fiction. But this time, Gunn deploys a devious bio-weapon, genetically-modified mosquitoes, intending to destroy the city of New Orleans before he takes Jock down. The timing? The annual Jazz and Heritage Festival.
A former Federal District Judge, Jock is currently the richest man in Louisiana after a bizarre inheritance, and has jumped head-on into running his new corporate empire and taking on the former owner’s social obligations, such as joining the advisory board of the Jazz and Heritage Festival—unaware that Gunn is watching his every move.
Adding to the suspense, Gunn’s appearance has been radically altered by numerous cutting-end surgeries to conceal his identity and to heal the near-fatal injuries inflicted by Jock during their last encounter. Gunn has employed Serge Breshensky, former Russian virologist-turned-double-agent, now selling his services to the highest bidder, to engineer the pathogen. With the help of Russian spy Annika Ustinov, a virologist herself with a personal stake in this deadly game, Gunn intends to sell this lucrative commodity to Russia. Developed in the aftermath of the Arab Spring in Cairo, then tested in the Amazon Basin and the Caribbean, this pathogen can indeed end life as we know it.
Rogue CIA Operative Maggie Toussaint returns to find Breshensky after the CIA tracked him to New Orleans, becoming the first to fall ill while renewing her relationship with Jock. Jock’s best friend and side-kick, former NOPD Detective Roscoe Fitch, also returns as Jock’s new corporate head of security, trying to keep Jock out of trouble as he combats corporate in-fighting and dissent in light of his new position, only learning of Gunn’s presence after the lethal brood of mosquitoes have been released. Can Jock Boucher act quickly enough to save his beloved city from the onslaught?

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

Ans. =>I have written about 12. My favorites are Riding Guts ‘n’ Glory and Jazz Age Rondo. Both different, both calling on family memories and history.

 Do you have any suggestions to help me become a better writer? If so, what are they

Ans. =>This is simple, but if you enjoy writing, that is in itself perhaps most important. It’s work, but if you enjoy what you are doing, it is easier and becomes a part of your life.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

Ans. =>Not as much as I would like. There were favorable comments from my first published works, a few corrections, but mostly positive. When I give them away, I almost always get compliments.

 Do you like to create books for adults or children…Why?

Ans. =>I write for adults. Those who write for children are gifted in that way. It’s like I write books, not music. Follow your given talents.

What do you think makes a good story?

Ans. => Depends. I like to learn something. I enjoy believable but unique characters and a satisfying ending.

The Jock Boucher Thriller Series Book Series

Perfect for fans of Greg Iles, Ice Fire is the first in a new series starring Jock Boucher—a renegade federal judge who takes justice into his own hands. 

In this explosive debut thriller, a judge from the Louisiana bayou goes up against a company on the verge of causing an ecological disaster.

Cajun-born Jock Boucher has overcome modest beginnings to assume the prestigious position of U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District of Louisiana. One of his first cases on the bench involves a scientist who has been hiding in mortal fear for more than twenty years. The fugitive claims that another judge accepted bribes and helped a relentless global energy company steal his intellectual property: a way to recover energy from below the subsea bed that could end America’s dependence on foreign oil.

Boucher takes on the company and its powerful founder, risking not only his judicial career but his life. He follows a trail of cryptic clues to the bottom of the ocean, and soon finds himself the target of killers—and too far from the law to ever return.

Packed with suspense, science, politics, and murder, this fast-paced, riveting thriller will have readers on the edge of their seats. Ice Fire is the first in a series offered by this authentic new talent.

As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

Ans. =>I wanted to be an entertainer, then a lawyer. There’s much in common with both.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

Ans. => I tired of practicing law, felt I could write, and was inspired by John Grisham’s success. I was fortunate my first effort was well received, and kept at it.

How long does it take you to write these books?

Ans. => It takes about a year. Six to nine months of original writing, the balance of the time re-writing and editing. If you write 1500 words a day, you can calculate the approximate time.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

Ans. =>I start around nine, finish around one. Four hours a day is a sufficient amount of time.

What brought you to write this book series?

Ans. =>A friend suggested I write a thriller. Nothing more than that. My first novel was a legal thriller. I write in multiple genres. It really depends on the idea, and my mood.

How did you become a published author? Any inspiration?

Ans. =>I had a friend in the business. That’s the simplest and truest answer. Of course it still took twenty years.

Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

Ans. =>Ideas come from anywhere, everywhere. Information comes from the internet, the greatest gift to writers of this generation.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing

Ans. =>? As I said, I read, both for relaxation and as research. I enjoy movies, and often read the screenplays online as I watch them. It’s another area of writing interest.

What’s next for you? What are you working on now?

Ans. =>I’m working on a science fiction novel. It’s a totally new genre, and has caused me to read the classics, and watch as many sci-fi movies as I can.